New Year and Resolutions!

Published January 13, 2014 by suejansons

December 30, 2013

I am interested in resolutions today since it is that time of year. Here is how Wikipedia describes New Year’s Resolutions along with a little history:

A New Year’s resolution is a secular tradition, most common in the West but found around the world, in which a person makes a promise to do an act of self-improvemen starting on New Year’s Day.

The ancient Babylonians made promises to their gods at the start of each year that they would return borrowed objects and pay their debts.

The Romans began each year by making promises to the god Janus, for whom the month of January is named.

In the Medieval era, the knights took the “peacock vow” at the end of Christmas season each year to re-affirm their commitment to chivalry.

At watchnight services, many Christians prepare for the year ahead by praying and making these resolutions.

There are other religious parallels to this traditon.During Judaism’s New Year, Rosh Hashanah, through the High Holidays and culminating in Yom Kippur (the Day of Atonement), one is to reflect upon one’s wrongdoings over the year and both seek and offer forgiveness. People may act similarly during the Catholic fasting period of Lent, though the motive behind this holiday is more of sacrifice than responsibility, in fact the practice of New Year’s resolutions partially came from the Lenten sacrifices. The concept, regardless of creed, is to reflect upon self-improvement annually.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Year%27s_resolution

I don’t generally resolve to change anything for the New Year because I usually do not stick with whatever it is I decide to do. And I don’t want to do it just because it is the thing to do or because everyone else is doing it. I am continually trying to improve myself.

I am always reading books on ways to improve myself or my business. I am currently learning about couponing, but I will save that topic for another post. But the things I want to improve for the new year have been on my mind since November. Due to family issues and the holidays, I have had to put a few things on the back burner. Since then things have been hectic, and that is where they stayed.

I want to continue my weight loss. Not sure how I managed to lose a few pounds, but I did! I am one pant size skinnier! You have to starts somewhere, right?

The other thing I want to do is get my business back to where it was. I bought a planner yesterday and I want to fill it full of parties and events! I had a good momentum going through November. I want to get that back!

So? What do you think? Are your resolutions similar? What are you doing to help keep them? I would  love to hear yours!

Hope you have a Scentsational New Years!

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Captain's Log

Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

INCOMESCO

An open discussion around the issues and area of interest

Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Harley Bird

Life as it revolves around a macaw...

Dorky's Deals

Lifestyle blog featuring food, family, travel, crafts, and much more.

nadiaharhash

living in the shoes of a woman

Denim & Dumplings

Fashion, food and everything in between

California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

hear me out

an outlet

Countdown to 40, Fit and Fabulous!

Becoming the best me, one day at a time!

LifePoint

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spark Your LinkedIn

John Sparks' tips to maximize your LinkedIn

