Learning a New Language

Published January 15, 2014 by suejansons

My husband and I are taking German classes. It is really fun so far. I must admit that I have an advantage over most people in the class, as I spoke German before I spoke English. When I started going to school, kids made fun of me for speaking German, so I stopped. I have retained a few words and have started learning it again here and there, but I would not say I can speak fluently, or even sure I know enough to get by. LOL

When I hear German being spoken, I try to listen to see if I can understand any of the words and if I can figure out what they are saying. Most of the time, people speak way too fast. So, all I really catch is a few words here and there.

Our idea to help in our studies is to watch movies or tv shows in German to see if we can pick up more of the language. My mom learned English watching “I Love Lucy.” What a fun way to learn! So, we thought if we could find kids shows or something not too advanced that will help.

We are also going to label items at the house so we will start thinking of the items in German. This was our teachers idea. I think it is fabulous. I have been thinking of the German words for items while in the shower. It makes that time much more useful, I think.

Our teacher told us that we would be taking a test this Saturday. We are a little frightened. The teacher told us how she used to teach in universities and that she was a hard grader. I wonder if she will grade on a curve since this is voluntary and not in a school setting. I sure hope so!

What about you?! Do you speak another language? Have you learned it since birth or did you choose to learn in school or after? Do you think it has helped you in any way? Has it hindered you at all? Would love to hear your experiences with other languages!

Have a Scentsational Day!

14 comments on “Learning a New Language

  • It’s nice and fun learning other language though but it is not that easy..I’ve learned Hebrew when i was in Israel and its is very hard at first because first you have to know the proper usage in accordance to the gender whom you are referring to.And now I’m happy that i can speak Hebrew quiet easier..it took me months before I completely speak well.🙂

    Like

  • It’s nice and fun learning other language though, but at first not easy, I’ve learned Israeli language “Hebrew”..it took me months before I speak Hebrew well, very challenging for me because in Hebrew language you have to consider the gender you are refering to during conversation,and for me it is a great experience!

    Like

  • It’s nice and fun learning other language though, but at first not easy, I’ve learned Israeli language “Hebrew”..it took me months before I speak Hebrew well, very challenging for me because in Hebrew language you have to consider the gender you are reffering to during conversation,and for me it is a great experience!

    Like

  • That’s really cool that you and hubby are learning a new language. Which my bf would take a Korean class with me lol My sister got me into Korean dramas and she took a course and went to South Korea for a month. She also has Korean friends and her boss is Korean which means lots of practice for her…me I only have the kdramas and songs lol. I actually learned to speak English by watching tv in English with subtibles hehehe I can speak a total of 3 languages fluently! Good you with your German class!

    Like

  • Living in the US people from other countries used to make fun of us for not speaking another language. Well, I may not have learned Spanish, because I didn’t live next to SPain or French because I didn’t live next to France. As a New Yorker I did, however, learn to speak New Jersey, Connecticut, and Massachusetts ( didn’t want to learn Rhode Island or Pennsylvanian).
    I remember taking German in 8th grade. That was the first year we were able to take a language back in the 1950’s. I still remember 2 of the questions/answers in our text from back then. I may not spell them correctly though: Wie heis du? Ich heise Wilhelm Meyer. Wo wohnst du? Ich wohne Wilhelmstrasse drei?

    Like

  • Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new
    initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog
    provided us useful information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        ultimatemindsettoday

    A great WordPress.com site

    Captain's Log

    Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

    INCOMESCO

    An open discussion around the issues and area of interest

    Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws

    This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

    Harley Bird

    Life as it revolves around a macaw...

    Dorky's Deals

    Lifestyle blog featuring food, family, travel, crafts, and much more.

    nadiaharhash

    living in the shoes of a woman

    Denim & Dumplings

    Fashion, food and everything in between

    California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

    Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

    Critical Dispatches

    Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

    My Food And Flowers

    Two of the Great Joys in Life!

    hear me out

    an outlet

    Honoring Grandfathers

    Countdown to 40, Fit and Fabulous!

    Becoming the best me, one day at a time!

    LifePoint

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    Spark Your LinkedIn

    John Sparks' tips to maximize your LinkedIn

