Russia

Published March 4, 2014 by suejansons

I am of Latvian descent……. Some people may not know this, but Russia invaded several Eastern European countries during World War II. That is actually why I am here in the United States. My grandparents fled Latvia when the Russians invaded and traveled to Germany. I don’t have a lot of the details, but I am told that my grandparents, along with my dad and his brothers, were put in work camps and my grandparents had numbers tattooed on their arms. Not a pleasant experience, I am sure.

I received an email today from  a Latvian American Group in regards to Russia invading the Ukraine. The email asked that all recipients contact their local PBS Station and ask that they air the film “The Soviet Story.”  It is a film released in 2008 about Russia’s violent history, and their part in history that some may not be aware of.  PBS has free access to this film and it might shed some light into what has already occurred and what could happen now.

You can visit the website for the film at www.sovietstory.com. This film is also available on www.Amazon.com, Amazon on Demand and iTunes. I encourage you to check it out and ask that you please contact your local PBS Station to air it and ask your friends and family to do the same. You can find your local station using this link: http://www.pbs.org/stationfinder/.

I have not seen this film yet, but I plan to watch it tonight and will be contacting my local station today. I hope  you do the same.

Sue

One comment on “Russia

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Captain's Log

Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

INCOMESCO

An open discussion around the issues and area of interest

Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Harley Bird

Life as it revolves around a macaw...

Dorky's Deals

Lifestyle blog featuring food, family, travel, crafts, and much more.

nadiaharhash

living in the shoes of a woman

Denim & Dumplings

Fashion, food and everything in between

California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

Critical Dispatches

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

hear me out

an outlet

Honoring Grandfathers

Countdown to 40, Fit and Fabulous!

Becoming the best me, one day at a time!

LifePoint

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spark Your LinkedIn

John Sparks' tips to maximize your LinkedIn

