Running Away

Published March 18, 2014 by suejansons

Have you ever felt like you were in a rut? Or worse, that things just weren’t going your way? I have been feeling that way for a little while now. Don’t get me wrong. I am not depressed or angry about these things, but they say that if you don’t like the way things are going, change your direction. And that is what I am thinking about today.

I would like to run away to someplace new. I am not even picky about where that would be. I would even brave the cold weather of moving north if the opportunity presented itself.

I grew up in New York and moved down here to Orlando over 25 years ago. But I remember it being an exciting, although sometimes scary, adventure. Maybe I have a lazy gypsy living inside of me. One that doesn’t mind living in one place for many years. But, that gypsy is ready to move now.

I was reading an article that North Dakota has a job boom going on right now. Sure, I would have to get used to the cold weather again. I would have to relearn how to drive in the snow. But these challenges seem to be just the thing I need. Learning new things, being in a completely different environment.

What would be even better would be to move to a different country altogether. Now that would be exciting! I have always dreamed of living in  Germany. My grandmother lived there, but she is gone now, so that is not an option. But Germany is not the only place I would be happy. There is a whole big world out there, ready for me to explore.

Anyone out there know how to go about moving to another country? Or have tips about finding jobs and housing out of state or country? Would love any tips!

Have a great day!

Sue

13 comments on “Running Away

  • As you know. I’ve moved country a couple of times… it has its rewards and its drawbacks. There’s always demand for English teachers. You could always do something like that for six months somewhere, and see how you like it. One thing’s for sure: an experience like that changes one’s perspective on life. Maybe the time has come…

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’m not sure exactly how you’d go about it. My situation is different, I write for a living, so all I need is a computer and the internet. As an EU citizen, I can live and work anywhere in the EU without needing a work permit/visa, and I’ve only ever moved within the EU.

        I’d start by googling “teaching English abroad/overseas/countryX”. The demand is there. Getting through the paperwork is another matter, but it must be possible, as I come across plenty of US citizens.

        Liked by 1 person

      • If you’re seriously considering teaching, you should get yourself a TEFL qualification. In Germany, you won’t find a teaching job without this. But, I believe, the certificate can be obtained within a month, if you do an intensive course, so it’s not a major hurdle.

        Liked by 1 person

  • I was going to suggest Latvia 😉

    With regards to TEFL, you could start here – http://www.tefl.com. I’d recommend getting some kind of certificate though (CELTA is considered the best these days) as most schools require a qualification. The great thing is that there’s always a demand for English teachers so if you get bored somewhere, you just move on 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • I’ve been there before – I went on vacation to the Rockies once and didn’t want to come back. But I did.
    I’ve grown out of it since I had kids, bought a house and settled. I’d suggest if you really want to re-locate, do it while the feeling is in you. I’ve always wondered what I missed out on…
    🙂

    Like

  • i know completely what you mean i think there must be some gypsy blood in me as well, cause i honestly love to move. if i were going to move to another country it would definitely be Ireland. however if you want to move somewhere closer virginia is nice. i have lived here my entire life and still dont hate it, so there you go if i dont hate it then it has to be good right? lol

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        Zebrapatterns Weblog by Debra Gabel

    Debra Gabel - Fiber artist and designer for Zebra Patterns

    Peggy and Sami Quilts

    www.PeggyCooperQuilts.com

    Me 'n' Henry Lee

    Musings, photographs, opinions and a whole lot of other stuff!

    chronicleofellen

    life, the universe and crafty goodness

    Curly Q

    Quilts

    Christa Quilts

    Make it yourself. Make it your own.

    writing in north norfolk

    Writer of children's literature, short stories and poetry

    Behind the Willows

    ...where the ladies are headstrong and the man is outnumbered.

    thecraftycreek

    Making and creating

    Factotum of Arts

    Idea, Design, Create

    Tim Latimer - Quilts etc

    My adventures in Quilting and Gardening

    Skinny and Single

    Single and Over 40 and Not Suicidal About It

    Travel Much?

    Never cease to explore and tell!

    NewEnglandGardenAndThread

    Master Gardener, amateur photographer, intermediate quilter and lover of day trips around New England

    Farm House Quilts

    a blog about my quilting life...mostly

    Lisa H Calle's Blog

    Quilting, Kids and Life…

    Lisa in Port Hope

    Quilting, sewing, and fun about town

