Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo

Published March 20, 2014 by suejansons

ImageImage

My dad didn’t listen to music very often, but when he did, it was loud and for a looooong time.

He loved listening to Russian Folk Music. That is the only thing I ever remember him listening to. I remember one song in particular. I called it the birdie song because there w as a lot of whistling in it and it sounded like a bird singing to me.

I also remember my parents taking into the city (NYC) to see them dancing and performing live. I cannot remember how old I was, but I am certain I was under 10. If you are interested, you can see a video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjVVg_26KIY

 

My mother, on the other hand, loved Tom Jones. She also liked Engelbert Humperdink and some other pop singers of that time.

Here was the Tom Jones song that I liked when I was little: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBdSqk78nHw

Now, I am supposed to tell you how their musical taste influenced me…….. I would say NOT AT ALL! LOL I like a wide variety of music, but what I like most is rock music. Whether it is alternative, grunge, metal. All of it. My all time favorite bands through the years are: U2, Coldplay, Led Zeppelin, and Genesis. There are several others that I consider favorites, but those 4 were my go to bands.  I don’t think my parents taste influenced me at all. I believe my friends had more influence on what music I like.

What kind of music really gets you going?

6 comments on “Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo

  • I was just telling my wife about an hour ago that my father didn’t like music at all. He thought it and sports were a waste of time and people should work hard. This I was sneaky and always listening to music. Loved the eighties as that was my time. Cousin brucie and his video music show lol.

    Like

  • My dad also loved ethnic music but it included Hawaiian slide guitar, Jamaican steel drums and french music too. I Love french music. They’d watch a program called Hymn Sing on Sundays too, we’d mostly sit thru it reluctantly because Disney came on right after, LOL.

    I do enjoy the four bands you’ve mentioned but I’m more into Singer/songwriter type artists. Like Ed Sheeran, Hannah Georgas, Lisa Hannigan, Tin Pan Orange. I listen to everything really, Show tunes like Chicago, Opera, Keith Urban. The only thing I don’t listen to is Rap and Hip Hop….kind of makes me a little crazy😀

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        ultimatemindsettoday

    A great WordPress.com site

    Captain's Log

    Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

    INCOMESCO

    An open discussion around the issues and area of interest

    Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws

    This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

    Harley Bird

    Life as it revolves around a macaw...

    Dorky's Deals

    Lifestyle blog featuring food, family, travel, crafts, and much more.

    nadiaharhash

    living in the shoes of a woman

    Denim & Dumplings

    Fashion, food and everything in between

    California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

    Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

    Critical Dispatches

    Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

    My Food And Flowers

    Two of the Great Joys in Life!

    hear me out

    an outlet

    Honoring Grandfathers

    Countdown to 40, Fit and Fabulous!

    Becoming the best me, one day at a time!

    LifePoint

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    Spark Your LinkedIn

    John Sparks' tips to maximize your LinkedIn

