Happy New Year 2015!

Published January 1, 2015 by suejansons

Happy New Year!

The new year is finally here! I am happy for it too! My daughter is visiting from California today! I haven’t seen her since October. Unfortunately, at that time she was here for the funeral of her paternal grandmother. This is a much happier visit. And tomorrow is her birthday too! I think this is a great start to the new year!

I have to say that I am glad to see 2014 go. 2014 had some good times, but there were a lot of rough times for me too. The job I had in the beginning of 2014 was great! I loved it! Unfortunately, the company was sold. The new owners had no clue what they were doing and by May, I was out of a job. In the coming months, I took on a few different jobs just to get by. This included working at a call center, which wasn’t my thing, and bartending at a local moose lodge. I am not much of a drinker, and honestly, being around drunk people is not what I would call a good time. But, these jobs got me and my family through.

We also moved to a smaller and cheaper place to live. There isn’t even close to enough storage room. I think we got rid of 75% of the things we had accumulated over the years. Not entirely a bad thing, but it sure makes me think twice now when I see something I want to buy.

I don’t really have any resolutions per se. I have been on a journey to save money for a while and plan to continue that. I am hoping to get better at that and learn to save even more.  I also want to lose weight. The holidays never make that easy, so it only makes sense for me to really start in the new year. We got Annual Passes to Disney World in the hopes of being more active. Of course, there is fun to be had as well.

Speaking of being active, hubby and I are doing a 5K in April. I plan on walking it, but even walking takes some training. My goal is to take my dog on long walks several times a week. I know she will appreciate that. And of course, walk a lot when we go to Disney. I hope that both of these activities build up my stamina and help me to lose weight.

Eating healthier is another part of my losing weight goal. I am thinking of going back to the Slim Fast diet. It worked for me, but I am going to do a little more research before I make my decision.

I got a sewing machine for Christmas, so I want to make quilts again! I miss doing that. Quilts are so beautiful and I feel a great sense of accomplishment when I complete one. Here are pictures of some that I have made.

quilt 1 quilt 2 quilt

Are you making resolutions? Or do you feel like me, that it is just another way to set yourself up for failure? The posts I have been reading seem to show that more and more people are not into the whole resolution thing. But if you are, I wish you the best of luck!

2015 is shiny and new and I am hoping for a much better year. I am starting out with a job that I like and hope it stays that way. It is a bigger company that has been in the family for many years. I don’t think it will be sold. We have Disney passes to relieve stress and get more exercise, and I am constantly working on saving money.  So check, check and check!

I am looking forward to see what this year brings! I wish everyone a happy and prosperous New Year!

9 comments on “Happy New Year 2015!

  • Leave a Reply

        ultimatemindsettoday

    A great WordPress.com site

    Captain's Log

    Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

    INCOMESCO

    An open discussion around the issues and area of interest

    Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws

    This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

    Harley Bird

    Life as it revolves around a macaw...

    Dorky's Deals

    Lifestyle blog featuring food, family, travel, crafts, and much more.

    nadiaharhash

    living in the shoes of a woman

    Denim & Dumplings

    Fashion, food and everything in between

    California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

    Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

    Critical Dispatches

    Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

    My Food And Flowers

    Two of the Great Joys in Life!

    hear me out

    an outlet

    Honoring Grandfathers

    Countdown to 40, Fit and Fabulous!

    Becoming the best me, one day at a time!

    LifePoint

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    Spark Your LinkedIn

    John Sparks' tips to maximize your LinkedIn

