I Am Officiating A Wedding!

Published January 6, 2015 by suejansons

Love is in the air! Yup! I am officiating a wedding! And not just any wedding. It is the wedding of our very good friends, John and Alex! I am a notary, and in Florida, notaries have the authority to perform wedding ceremonies. I think many other states allow notaries the same authority.

But anyway, Florida became the 36th state to allow same sex marriages! Today was the first day that gay and lesbian couples were allowed to sign for licenses. In Florida there is a 3 day waiting period, but if you take a class, you can get married that same day. Who knew? Not me.

But John and Alex are waiting until Friday to have their ceremony along with two other couples and asked me to officiate! So excited for them!

We have known John and Alex for a few years now. We met at Universal Studios while we were waiting to see Cindy Lauper. We friended each other on Facebook and FourSquare and met up a few times and the rest is history! We have gone on cruises together, spent holidays together, you name it. They are the kindest, most generous friends and we are so happy that we can call them friends!

This will be the second marriage ceremony I will have performed, but the most important one to me. I researched lots of ceremonies and showed the happy couple what I found. They liked the same ceremony that I did, which is super cool! I am going to keep it hush-hush until after the big day.

They plan on having a larger more formal ceremony in the near future but wanted to take their vows now as they have waited a long time for this right. I hope they ask me to marry them during that ceremony as well.

My husband plans to take pictures and I will share them with you  this weekend! Super excited and happy for them!

 

3 comments on “I Am Officiating A Wedding!

  • Leave a Reply

        ultimatemindsettoday

    A great WordPress.com site

    Captain's Log

    Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

    INCOMESCO

    An open discussion around the issues and area of interest

    Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws

    This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

    Harley Bird

    Life as it revolves around a macaw...

    Dorky's Deals

    Lifestyle blog featuring food, family, travel, crafts, and much more.

    nadiaharhash

    living in the shoes of a woman

    Denim & Dumplings

    Fashion, food and everything in between

    California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

    Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

    Critical Dispatches

    Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

    My Food And Flowers

    Two of the Great Joys in Life!

    hear me out

    an outlet

    Honoring Grandfathers

    Countdown to 40, Fit and Fabulous!

    Becoming the best me, one day at a time!

    LifePoint

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    Spark Your LinkedIn

    John Sparks' tips to maximize your LinkedIn

