Striiv Touch Equals Motivation

Published January 14, 2015 by suejansons

So on New Years Day, I posted how I was going to become more active. You can read that here. Well, I am happy to report that I am sticking to it thus far! I have been taking our dog for walks nightly, as long as it isn’t pouring. I have also gone to Disney four times since Christmas, which ALWAYS equals a lot of walking. And let’s not forget I am walking a 5K in April!

I have a hard time keeping motivated, as I am sure many people do. In order to help me stay motivated, I got myself a Striiv Touch band. It is a lot like the Fitbit, which my hubby uses, but it has a couple of features that I really like that the Fitbit does not. The first feature is a game. Yes an actual game that you play on your smart phone. It is called My Land. I have to admit that it is not the most exciting game, but in order to level up, you need to walk to get energy. And you need energy to grow things and to level up your plants, etc.

striiv_band_news

You need to grow plants and build buildings in your world and you can get all sorts of mythical creatures to live there. Right now I have a lemur, and ostrich (neither of which are mythical, lol) a fairy, a dragon, and a few half men half horse creatures. I have only been using the band since Sunday, and Sunday was not a very big walking day. At least not after I got the band. I am competitive enough to want to do well in the game. LOL

The other really cool thing that Striiv does is it will donate water to places where clean water is hard to come by! In the app, you can hit the Walkathon button and all your steps go towards a water donation. I have not tried it yet because I am saving it for when I know I am going to walk a long time. So the next time I go to Disney, I plan on getting a LOT of water donated. So cool!

Those are just two features that I have not found in another pedometer type band. There are plenty of other great features too. For one, you can set up your own goals for steps or distance, and calories to burn. Mine came with the preset of 10,000 steps, but during the week, that isn’t happening for me. I work a desk job with little opportunity to walk far. So, I have my goal set for 3000 steps. My hope is that once I improve my stamina, I will be able to walk longer in the evenings. Right now I walk at least a mile in the evening.

Striiv Touch also tracks your sleep. This has been an interesting feature for me because I know I do not sleep very well. I can see from the data that I am very restless for a lot of the night. I hope that when I walk longer, it will make me more tired and I will sleep better. Only time will tell. But, it is interesting to see when you are in deep sleep and when you move around. The only thing I have an issue with as far as the sleep mode goes is that you have to place the band into sleep mode and take it off that mode in the morning. It would be so nice if it would be intuitive and switch modes by itself. I know the next Fitbit is supposed to have this feature.

With the Srtiiv app you can add friends like many other fitness apps. It allows you to chat and even keeps track of who is walking the most and reached their goals. All in all, I am really happy with all the features.

I definitely recommend the Striiv line of fitness bands. I am very happy with mine, and I can’t wait to walk at Disney and reap all my energy in my game and donate water! LOL But, I will say this. Whatever you do, go out and move. It doesn’t really matter what fitness band you get, or if you even get one! Just get out and walk. Breathe some fresh air, move your muscles. I feel quite a bit more energetic already and  I haven’t been walking regularly for very long.

Hope you are having a fantastic day!  Stop by again soon!

8 comments on “Striiv Touch Equals Motivation

  • Leave a Reply

        ultimatemindsettoday

    A great WordPress.com site

    Captain's Log

    Life On A Different Plane (The only way to get there is together.)

    INCOMESCO

    An open discussion around the issues and area of interest

    Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Claws

    This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

    Harley Bird

    Life as it revolves around a macaw...

    Dorky's Deals

    Lifestyle blog featuring food, family, travel, crafts, and much more.

    nadiaharhash

    living in the shoes of a woman

    Denim & Dumplings

    Fashion, food and everything in between

    California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

    Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

    Critical Dispatches

    Follow me on Twitter and Instagram @RichyDispatch

    My Food And Flowers

    Two of the Great Joys in Life!

    hear me out

    an outlet

    Honoring Grandfathers

    Countdown to 40, Fit and Fabulous!

    Becoming the best me, one day at a time!

    LifePoint

    Just another WordPress.com weblog

    Spark Your LinkedIn

    John Sparks' tips to maximize your LinkedIn

